Who We Are

Third Rail Repertory Theatre was born in 2003 from a desire to deliver artistic excellence to Portland audiences on a consistent basis. Like the Group Theatre of the 1930s and Chicago’s Steppenwolf Theatre, Third Rail’s permanent ensemble shares an esthetic, a vocabulary, and an understanding of each other’s working styles. This means that great risks can be taken quickly, and thus great dramatic (and comic) potential is tapped. The result for theatergoers is productions that are surprising, thought-provoking, and above all, consistently entertaining.

The artists of Third Rail are professionals. They have worked as actors, directors, and designers at all levels of American theatre from summer stock to Broadway—and as teachers in outreach programs and in higher education. The company’s ties to Portland are deep and strong. Many members were born here, and their involvement with Portland theatre spans decades.



Maureen Porter
Managing Artistic Director

Box Office

Kelsea Vierra Ashenbrenner
Patron Services & Arts Activism Coordinator

Amelia Sommer
Box Office Assistant


Michelle Kashinsky
Associate Producer

Jenessa Raabe
Associate Production Manager


Cynthia Shur Petts
Development & Communications Manager

Tamara Carroll
Administrative & Marketing Assistant

Board of Directors

Ava Schoen, Board President
Tonkon Torp, LLP

Stuart Robertson, Treasurer
Portfolio Manager, Wealth Management
The Partners Group

Mary Chaffin, Secretary
Attorney, retired
Community/Political Advocate

Matt Brown
YBA Architects

Pancho Savery
Reed College

Penny Greenwood
Organizational strategist and business owner (ret.)/ community volunteer

Maureen Porter
Third Rail Repertory Theatre, Managing Artistic Director

Advisory Council

Scott Yarbrough, Founding Artistic Director
Nicola Sysyn, City of Portland, Program Specialist
Sue Dixon, Portland Opera
Jim Cox, Western Rivers Conservancy
Kerry Cobb, Kerry Cobb Marketing
Stacey Gianapoulos, Larsen’s Creamery, retired

Founding Company Members

Rachel Brodkey, Stephanie Gaslin, Michael O’Connell, John Steinkamp, Valerie Stevens, Tim True, Scott Yarbrough